Comparison

Flutter boilerplates compared (2026)

Five Flutter starter kits and one visual builder, compared on price, refunds, state management, payments, platforms and AI-agent support. Competitor facts come from each vendor's own pages; sources are listed at the end.

Updated

Disclosure: we make Template369, one of the kits below. Every fact about another product links to the vendor page it came from, read on 18 October 2026. Prices and features change, so check the vendor's page before you buy. If we got something wrong, email support@mail.app369.com and we'll fix it.

Quick picks

  • Lowest paid price: The Flutter Kit, $69 once.
  • Free and open source: Very Good CLI. It generates a well-structured app, but sign-in, a backend and payments are yours to build.
  • A refund window: ApparenceKit offers 10 days. ShipFlutter and FlutFast don't refund once you have the code, and neither does Template369.
  • Stripe Checkout on Flutter web: Template369's app opens Stripe Checkout through a Cloud Function that you deploy (the server code isn't in the app repo). ShipFlutter takes web payments through LemonSqueezy. The others don't state a web payment option on the pages we read.
  • Building with an AI coding agent: Template369 ships AGENTS.md, CLAUDE.md and six agent skills. ApparenceKit includes "custom AI rules" for its architecture.
  • Several apps from one purchase: The Flutter Kit, ShipFlutter, ApparenceKit Professional and Template369 all allow unlimited projects.
  • No hand-written code: FlutterFlow, a visual builder billed monthly (see below).

Side by side

"Not stated" means we couldn't find it on the vendor's pages, not that the feature is missing. Sources for every kit are listed under How we checked.

Template369Ours

Price
$350/year or $34.99/month
Projects per purchase
Unlimited (see license)
Refunds
All sales final
State and routing
GetX; one navigation shell, no named routes
Backend
Firebase (Auth, Firestore, Storage, FCM); the app calls 7 Cloud Functions callables
Server code included
No: the Cloud Functions code isn't in the app repo
Sign-in
Email and password, phone (SMS)
Payments
RevenueCat on iOS and Android; Stripe Checkout on web
Platforms
iOS, Android, web, macOS
AI-agent support
AGENTS.md, CLAUDE.md, 6 agent skills, Claude Code hook
Live demo
Web demo
Latest update signal
Verified on Flutter 3.47.2 (Oct 2026); dated changelog

The Flutter Kit

Price
$69 once; lifetime updates (home page)
Projects per purchase
Unlimited
Refunds
Not stated
State and routing
BLoC + GoRouter per docs (home page says Signals)
Backend
Firebase; optional Flask AI proxy
Server code included
Functions scaffolding and the Flask proxy
Sign-in
Email, Google, Apple, anonymous (per docs)
Payments
RevenueCat; "Stripe-ready hooks"
Platforms
iOS, Android, web (pages differ)
AI-agent support
Not stated
Live demo
Not stated
Latest update signal
"Updated for Flutter 3.24+"; pages dated Mar to Sep 2026

ApparenceKit

Price
$149 once (1 app); Professional $194 (listed $299); Agency $454 (listed $699)
Projects per purchase
1 app (Solo); unlimited (Professional, Agency)
Refunds
10 days, no questions asked
State and routing
Riverpod + GoRouter
Backend
Firebase, Supabase or your REST API
Server code included
Backend templates with the Firebase and Supabase options
Sign-in
Email, phone, Google, Facebook, Twitter
Payments
RevenueCat (optional); web not stated
Platforms
iOS, Android, web
AI-agent support
"Custom AI rules" for its architecture (home page)
Live demo
Web demo (per docs; "not fully functional")
Latest update signal
"V5 just got released" (home page); Flutter version not stated

ShipFlutter

Price
$99 for 1 year of access and updates, or $164 lifetime
Projects per purchase
Unlimited
Refunds
None once you have the code
State and routing
Signals + GoRouter
Backend
Firebase and an Express API
Server code included
Functions and an Express API, depending on your configuration
Sign-in
Email, anonymous, Google, Facebook, Twitter
Payments
RevenueCat on mobile; LemonSqueezy on web
Platforms
iOS, Android, web
AI-agent support
Not stated
Live demo
Embedded on the home page; online builder
Latest update signal
Latest dated product post: V2, Jan 2025

FlutFast

Price
$60 / $95 / $200 (launch prices)
Projects per purchase
Not stated
Refunds
None once access is granted
State and routing
Not stated
Backend
Firebase; Node.js backend from Premium up
Server code included
Node.js TypeScript backend (Premium and Business)
Sign-in
Firebase Authentication (methods not stated)
Payments
RevenueCat
Platforms
Not stated
AI-agent support
Not stated
Live demo
Not stated
Latest update signal
Not stated

Very Good CLI

Price
Free, MIT license
Projects per purchase
Unlimited (open source)
Refunds
Not applicable
State and routing
Bloc; routing not stated
Backend
None (app template only)
Server code included
Not applicable
Sign-in
None
Payments
None
Platforms
iOS, Android, web, Windows, macOS, Linux
AI-agent support
Experimental MCP server in the CLI
Live demo
Not applicable (a generator)
Latest update signal
CLI v1.5.0, Sep 2026

Notes on each kit

Template369

A Flutter + Firebase app with email and phone sign-in, RevenueCat subscriptions on iOS and Android, Stripe Checkout on the web through Cloud Functions callables, push and in-app notifications, theming and a responsive shell for phone, tablet and desktop. It uses GetX. The difference from every other kit here is the agent pack: an AGENTS.md that maps the project and its rules, and six skills that walk an agent through common changes such as adding a screen or a subscription plan. It costs more than the other kits and is sold as a subscription, and all sales are final, so try the demo and read how the agent pack works first.

Limits to know before you choose it:

  • Firebase only, and GetX only. If your team uses Riverpod or Bloc, another kit will fit better.
  • The Cloud Functions backend isn't in the app repo. The app calls seven named callables, and you deploy the server side.
  • Sign-in is email and phone; there's no Google or Apple sign-in.
  • No localization: strings are English.
  • Linux and Windows runners exist, but Firebase isn't configured for them.

The Flutter Kit

The cheapest paid option at $69 once, with lifetime updates and unlimited projects. It covers Firebase, RevenueCat and in-app AI features through an optional Flask proxy. Its own pages disagree on a few points: the docs describe BLoC with get_it while the home page mentions Signals, and the platform list differs between pages. Web payments are described as "Stripe-ready hooks" rather than a working checkout.

ApparenceKit

One-time pricing from $149 for one app, with a Professional tier for unlimited apps, and the only refund window in this list (10 days). It uses Riverpod and GoRouter and lets you choose Firebase, Supabase or your own REST API. Sign-in covers email, phone, Google, Facebook and Twitter, and it includes "custom AI rules" for its architecture. No web payment provider is stated.

ShipFlutter

$99 for a year of access and updates, or $164 for lifetime, with unlimited projects. It uses Signals and GoRouter, Firebase plus an Express API, RevenueCat on mobile and LemonSqueezy on the web. There's an embedded demo and a free, MIT-licensed open template on GitHub. The latest dated product update we found was the V2 announcement in January 2025.

FlutFast

Three tiers from $60 to $200 at launch prices. The Premium and Business tiers add a Node.js TypeScript backend. Payments go through RevenueCat. The site doesn't state its state management, platforms or update period, and refunds aren't given once access is granted.

Very Good CLI

Free and MIT-licensed, from Very Good Ventures. very_good create generates a Bloc-based app with tests and flavors for six platforms. It's a strong, actively released foundation (v1.5.0 shipped in September 2026), but there's no sign-in, backend or payments, so it saves less time if you're building a paid SaaS app. The CLI also has an experimental MCP server for AI assistants.

Where FlutterFlow fits

FlutterFlow is a visual app builder, not a boilerplate. Plans are monthly: Free, Basic at $39, Growth at $80 for the first seat and Business at $150 for the first seat, according to its pricing page. The free plan doesn't let you download the code. Basic and above do, and Growth and above can push it to GitHub. Pick it if you want to design screens visually. Pick a boilerplate if you want to own and edit the code from day one.

What to check before you buy any Flutter boilerplate

  1. Does it build on today's Flutter? Look for a stated Flutter version and a dated changelog.
  2. Which state management does it use? Changing it later means rewriting most of the app, so pick one you or your team already know.
  3. Where do payments run? Store billing on mobile is usually required for digital subscriptions; check what it uses on the web and whether the server-side code is included.
  4. What does the license allow? Check the number of apps, whether you can use it for client work, and whether updates end after a year.
  5. Can you try it first? A live demo, open-source parts or a refund window lowers the risk.
  6. Will your AI agent follow it? If you build with Claude Code, Codex or Cursor, check for an AGENTS.md or rules file that tells the agent the project's conventions.

How we checked

On 18 October 2026 we read each vendor's home, pricing, docs, license and terms pages, and GitHub for Very Good CLI. We only listed what those pages state, and we haven't bought or run the other kits. Template369's column comes from our own repository and changelog. We'll re-check this page when a vendor changes its pricing or ships a major version.

Sources